Author of The ADHD Vampire and Mother F'ing Black Skull of Death

Posts tagged “Matthew Vaughn

My Review of Video Night by Adam Cesare

Video Night
It wasn’t my intention to do two Adam Cesare reviews in a row, but Adam’s book Video Night is currently .99. I went to re-read my review I had wrote back when I originally read this book and I couldn’t find it here on this site or on Goodreads. I thought maybe I hadn’t wrote one, but I felt like I had. I did a little digging and found it. For some reason I never posted it. I don’t know why, but I am posting it now.

I have been enjoying everything I’ve read by Adam Cesare, he has become one of my favorite new horror authors. Just recently I read Video Night and it was like a nostalgic trip through time.
Set in the late 80’s at the height of VCRs and Video rental stores, main character Billy Rile is a pretty big horror movie fan. He and best friend Tom have a local video store they go to and have a video night every Friday. But, unbeknownst to them, something alien is slowly taking over the town, and it’s looking to wreck a very important video night.
Like many people my age who read horror, this book is like relieving your childhood, minus the body snatching aliens. My friends and I had our video store we went to regularly and spent many Friday and Saturday nights watching the same films our two main characters do. I’d be willing to bet there is a bit of Adam Cesare in Billy and Tom.
Adam adds in the perfect amount of drama as we see the two boys are starting to go their separate ways as high school nears its end, and Billy desperately wants to keep their video night ritual intact.
One of the unique things Adam does with this book is give us quite a bit of insight to the aliens, showing us the inner conflict as they take over a body and push it’s original occupants out.
From the first chapter we get hit with the gore, and Adam doesn’t shy away from it as the book continues, which I thought was excellent. He does a great job at crafting his scenes, and with his depictions of his creatures.
I’d recommend this not only for fans of 80’s horror, but, for anyone looking for a fresh new voice in the genre. Adam Cesare’s writing some fantastic stuff, and I’m sure it’s just going to get better and better.

Buy it here Video Night

Advertisements

Hellsworld Hotel now available on Kindle!

Hellsworld Hotel.Kindle

The Kindle Ebook for Hellsworld Hotel in now available! Currently it’s only .99, and will stay at that low price for the first month! For those that don’t care for ebooks, they paperback should be live next week.

From the back cover – As the Halloween season approaches, the newest residents of small town Eminence are hard at work opening a haunted house attraction called Hellsworld Hotel. The local townsfolk are excited, especially the teenagers. Normally you would have to drive to one of the big cities for something like this. But local Sheriff Stan Maxell is skeptical, even more so when he takes notice of how many of the young people in his town are disappearing.

Hellsworld Hotel is a tale of family horror in the vein of The Texas Chainsaw Massacre and House of 1000 Corpses, brought to you by the author of The ADHD Vampire and Fast Times at Cine Mega Plex High.

Buy it here Hellsworld Hotel