Author of The ADHD Vampire and Mother F'ing Black Skull of Death

Posts tagged “Carlton Mellick III

My Review of Carlton Mellick III’s Zombies and Shit

I am a pretty big fan of zombies, mainly zombie movies, but I’ve read a few zombie books too. I’ve read a couple of Brian Keene’s, I’ve read some shorts. In the introduction of Zombies and Stuff CM3 talks about being hesitant to write about zombies, really they are getting over done. But I for one am glad that he decided to write this book, it freakin rocked! Set in a post apocalyptic future devastated by a zombie plague we are introduced to twenty individuals as they awaken to find themselves as participants on the game show Zombie Survival. Much like the Manga Battle Royale it’s a fight to the death as there can be only one winner of the show. Some characters prefer to work together, some choose to destroy any they see along the way to victory. But they all have to deal with an endless horde of zombies, and the best of all it’s the Return of the Living Dead style zombies. Nobody uses those zombies, but here there are plenty of them hungry for brains.
CM3 gives us a back-story on each of the contestants and what brought them to Zombie Survival. It’s an interesting behind the scenes that shows the readers the harsh world that has survived the onslaught of zombies. This book isn’t pretty, it’s gory and brutal, but it’s super entertaining. Out of the CM3 books I have read this has become my favorite. It’s a must have for fans of Bizarro and Zombies.

Buy it here Zombies and Shit on Amazon.com


My Review of Carlton Mellick III’s Satan Burger

I finally got a chance to sit down and read the one that started it. This is my review I posted to Amazon and Goodreads.

 

Satan Burger was probably the first Bizarro book I had ever heard of. I don’t remember what set me to looking for it on Amazon, but I did, and I read descriptions and reviews on it and many other Bizarro books trying to figure out which one would be my first step into the Bizarro genre. It ended up not being this book, or any CM3 book for that matter. I read quite a few books from the genre before I finally got to a CM3 book, but it still wasn’t Satan Burger. It stayed on my radar though, and a few weeks ago I finally got a copy. I really enjoyed this book. It really shows the almost limitless imagination Carlton has, he crammed a lot of different ideas into the 236 pages. He creates some great characters too, from our narrator Leaf with his acid ocean eyes to Satan, the homosexual who brings everything he touches to life, to Gin, the dead guy with the living body parts. This books not without its issues, one being the voice seems to jump around a bit at times, but I think it helps to go into this book knowing that it was one of his first published books, written over ten years ago. CM3 has written a lot of books since Satan Burger so obviously he has improved during his career. This is still a good read, a classic that any Bizarro fan should check out at least once.

Buy it here Satan Burger at Amazon.com