The Con Season

I listened to the Audio book of Adam Cesare’s The Con Season, narrated by Joe Hempel, last year and failed to write any kind of review for it. I quit the reviewing game for a little bit, there’s just never enough time in the day for everything. I’ve recently been trying to do some reviews again and I thought I should do one for this book now. So, I re-listened to the Audio book.

What I love about some of Adam Cesare’s work is how he utilizes nostalgia, more specifically things I’m nostalgic for. This time around he uses nostalgia in older B-movie actors as the focal point of the plot. This is something a lot of us horror fans can identify with. I know I love going to conventions and seeing the various actors that played Michael Myers, or the stars of my favorite 80’s horror movies. What Cesare has done here is taken the B-movie actor and placed them into a real life horror movie, something that I found unique and entertaining.

So basically The creators of Blood Camp Con have assembled a group of B-list celebrities for what is to be a new and unique con experience. Gone are the long lines of fans waiting to get an autograph and a photo. Instead the actors are brought to an actual summer camp for what is supposed to be a “fully immersive” experience. Things quickly turn bloody and our B-movie actors are forced to use the skills they’ve learned from their own previous movies to survive.

I found The Con Season to be quite enjoyable, if maybe a little less bloody than I expected. I’m not even sure why I expected more blood and gore but I did. That did not impact how well written the story was, or my enjoyment of said story. Joe Hempel did an excellent job narrating, as he always does with Adam’s books. I can’t help but wonder if this will be the last one he does for Adam Cesare since it seems he’s moved up quite a bit in the world of audio book narrators.

Buy it here The Con Season

Leave a comment

Trending