Author of The ADHD Vampire and Mother F'ing Black Skull of Death

My Review of Brian Keene’s Entombed

Entombed

I’ve read a few of Brian Keene’s books, enough that I can start picking favorites. One of those favorites of mine is his zombie novel Dead Sea. I thought it was a great read and he brought some unique ideas he brought to the zombie genre. And it was bleak, very bleak. Not too long after I read Dead Sea Keene announced a sequel, Entombed. I was excited, it was said to be not so much a sequel as another book set in that world. That sounded like a winner to me, I was ready for it. It took awhile for me to get a hold of it. Originally it was released as a lettered edition hardcover and limited edition hardcover. As much as I wanted to read it I just can’t afford limited editions. So I was thankful when Deadite re-released it last year.
Set in a world where the disease Hamlin’s Revenge has turned most of the population into zombies. Entombed tells the story of a small group of survivors that have locked themselves away in a former military bunker. It provides plenty of protection from the zombies, but as supplies start to run out and under the reign of one man’s self imposed leadership things turn ugly. There’s very little zombie action in this one, mainly in flashbacks to what brought the survivors to the bunker, but there is plenty of violence. Personally I thought this was one of Keene’s gorier books.
I’ve often said that what makes Brian Keene stand out as a writer to me is the characters he creates. In Entombed we see main character Peter as he goes to a very dark place inside himself in able to do the things he feels he needs to in order to survive. We are privy to his internal struggles, such as is he doing what he does to survive, or has it become something else. This book shows us that sometimes the scary stuff has nothing to with monsters or zombies, but can come from the people around you. Or inside yourself.
I started out saying that Dead Sea is one of my favorite Keene novels, and I think Entombed ranks pretty close to it. Though not as great as Dead Sea, it is still a very good read. Being that this is one of his later books, it goes to show that Brian Keene isn’t slowing down or getting soft, with Entombed it almost seems the opposite is in order.

By it here Entombed

3 responses

  1. Good review! I love this book.

    February 5, 2013 at 2:07 pm

    • Thanks, I thought it was definitely worth the wait

      February 5, 2013 at 7:51 pm

      • I was expecting a direct sequel to Dead Sea with this one, and was surprised that it was more like a giallo/slasher/bunker mentality novel instead.

        March 4, 2013 at 5:28 pm

Leave a Reply

